2015 Supporting Actress Thoughts

Hey hey it is one of the few times where I have watched all of the best supporting actress nominees! I didn’t even intend to cover this category, mind you, it just so happened that all of these women appeared in films that I was curious in/had performances that I wanted to watch. Still, I thought I should quickly write this post before these performances fade from my memory.

Reason being, I found most of these performances not particularly memorable or refreshing. That being said. I found this year better than last year, where I literally struggle to even recall who the nominees are. My number 1 is the clear winner, and had she won, she might have been one of my favourite winners this decade. I am going to be honest and say that my number 2 got her ranking because I was largely influenced by the overwhelming love everybody has for her. Objectively speaking, she gives a great performance, but I always felt that she was overshadowed by her co-star and also, she’s not really a favourite actress of mine. 3 and 4 are pretty equal, although I prefer 3 because she added more with how little she had, while 4 is just consistently good. 5 gives a perfectly fine performance, but nothing overly special in my opinion. As a celebrity, I love her the most out of all 5 nominees though – I happen to enjoy the glorious cheesiness of The Time Traveler’s Wife, and Regina George is one awesome bitch.

5. Rachel Mcadams in Spotlight – 3/5

rachel mcadams

Regina George is now an Oscar nominee! Hurray! That being said, I have to admit I struggle to find things to really rave about McAdams work here. Don’t get me wrong, I love subtle and realistic acting, but McAdam’s Sacha Pfeiffer is merely a piece of the overall masterpiece that Spotlight is. I have nothing to fault with her acting here, and I actually think she fared better than Ruffalo’s scenery chewing, but like I said in my post, why nominate her out of the entire cast? Some nice moments with her nana and Ruffalo’s Rezendes, but nothing outstanding.

Favourite scene: We are going to tell this story

4. Alicia Vikander in The Danish Girl – 4/5

Alicia Vikander
She is the best part of her boring film, and there are a lot of nice emotional moments she gets to play. She manages to successfully convey the pain of losing her husband, her struggles as an artist, and her journey in recovering. That being said, I felt like, it could have been, I don’t know, more? I appreciate it from a technical standpoint.

Favourite scene: Saying she wants her husband bacl

3. Kate Winslet in Steve Jobs – 4/5

Kate Winslet.jpg

She actually gives the kind of supporting performance that I enjoy even though people usually dismiss it as underwhelming. Her material is thin, and yet she manages to develop Joanna fully as a person, allowing us to fully understand what goes through her head. The main highlight of her performance is her relationship with Fassbender’s Steve Jobs. She shows so many sides of the character – the friend, the partner, the assistant, the moral compass.

Favourite scene: The big emotional moment, which she managed to pull off although it was awkwardly written imo. So sudden?

2. Rooney Mara in Carol – 4.5/5 

rooney mara carolI usually find Rooney Mara’s “understated” acting style more boring and vacuous than anything, but over here it fits the role of Therese Belivet perfectly. I admit she handles the character’s development beautifully, and it was great to watch Therese finding herself. That being said, I never really felt…I don’t know, supportive of the character? Like I ended up feeling so damn sorry for Carol throughout this whole movie that I kinda forget about Therese a little. I may sound critical, but I assure you, I am not. At the end of the day, I still think this is a beautiful performance with many wonderfully acted moments, but I just don’t love it as much as so many do.

Favourite moment: The breakdown in the car with Carol, where she expresses her guilt.

1 Jennifer Jason Leigh in The Hateful Eight – 5/5

JJL Hateful 8

I love The Hateful Eight. It’s not perfect, and I know people often complain about it being slow and boring but I was thoroughly hooked from beginning to end. I might even go as far to say that I prefer this to Django Unchained and Inglourious Basterds. I also thought Samuel L. Jackson should have been nominated and won for best actor, and a few of the supporting casts are equally deserving of noms as well, like Kurt Russell. The funny thing is, I have the least impression of what the film actually won for – its score. Like, I really can’t remember it. I feel Carol should have taken that one.

At the end of the day, Jennifer Jason Leigh gives the kind of supporting performance that I love and haven’t seen in a while in this category. I can only compare her to Ruth Gordon in Rosemary’s Baby and Dianne Wiest in Bullets Over Broadway. Is it the most complex and important role in the entire film? No. But she is entertaining as hell with a one-of-a-kind presence, and you cannot take your eyes off her the moment she is on screen. I wouldn’t even say it is easy…I mean look at how JLaw tried in American Hustle and…oh wait, many people love her there.

Jennifer Jason Leigh doesn’t have that many lines in the beginning, but she always captures your attention with small, distinct mannerisms to suggest something “off” about Daisy. And then when it comes to the final “negotiation” scene, you really get to see her sink her teeth into this role and show all the different sides of the character – menacing, authoritative, frightening and pathetic at the same time. She was like a crazy dog (bitch, haha) without any dignity or shame, and it is bloody (literally) awesome! It is the kind of performance this category needs more, and I really miss them. Sighs.

Favourite moment: The negotiation scene, and “when you get to hell John, tell them Daisy sent ya”

2 comments

  1. I was so tuned out with this year’s Best Supporting Actress category. It’s hard to call it as such when 2/5 of the nominees ought to have been in the Lead category. So with that said, the only real ‘supporting’ work of the 5 that I saw was Kate Winslet, and while I thought she was just solid, I’m not sure I understood the overall love. (seems like she was in second place this year?)

    1. THE CATEGORY FRAUD! I actually forgot to mention that. I was being subjective about Winslet as I love her as an actress, she and Vikander were more of 3 to 3.5s frankly. Still, not a strong year but JJL imo elevates it. McAdams is a head-scratcher filler nom.

Leave a Reply

