Selma (2014)

selma-movie-poster

I’m just going to make this post a quick one as I’m feeling sleepy. I finally got about to watching Selma, one of the more controversial entries to this year’s best picture lineup. Having watched it at last, I can say that it’s a very good film, but I didn’t think it was as amazing or great as people say. My main issue was with the drab pacing in the first half – I get that Ava DuVernay wanted to be as detailed as she could in portraying the story, but I felt disengaged. However, things improved significantly in the second half, and it becomes a powerful and moving portrayal of a significant part of America’s history.

Onto the Oscar snubs – I thought DuVernay did a fine job, but like I said, I had issues with the pacing of the film. I’m not gonna deny that I was feeling irritable the past few days, and this probably hindered my appreciation of the it. Still, I do think it could have been more succinct. I read that Lee Daniels was supposed to be the one directing it – thank goodness, cause I HATED The Butler. DuVernay’s passion for this story can be felt throughout the film, and I really appreciated the fact that she didn’t try to manipulate the audience like how Daniels would have done. Had she been nominated for best director, I would have been fine with it, but I wouldn’t have given her the win over Iñárritu anyway. I still think that Jean-Marc Vallée should have been nominated for Wild, but that’s just me 🙂

The real snub is David Oyelowo’s performance as Martin Luther King Jr.  I thought his performance was MILES better than Eddie Redmayne’s Oscar winning turn. He gave a really powerful and moving portrayal of a flawed but iconic figure, and I would even say that his performance was the essence of this movie. He was better than Steve Carell (whose performance I still liked) and Redmayne (I can’t with this win) and I would have nominated him over them.

Still, I liked for Selma for what it is, and it is probably the better film out of what seems like an EXTREMELY underwhelming best picture line-up. I’m not blown away, but I’m impressed. 4/5.

Leave a Reply

