Best Picture 1973

Well, I did say I will do it didn’t I?

Out of the 5 films, I’ve already watched The Exorcist, Cries and Whispers and A Touch of Class. I can tell you straight away that Cries and Whispers and The Exorcist are among my top 15 favourite films ever, while I like A Touch of Class for Glenda Jackson’s (very deserving) Oscar-winning performance. Still, this was a pretty freaking fantastic year for films, so I can’t wait to rewatch them. I’ve already watched Cries & Whispers 3 times and each time was equally, mind you.

Also, I decided not to do rankings anymore. To me, after doing 1971, pitting the brilliant films against one another is pointless. I’d rather appreciate each film for their individual merits. Maybe by the end of it I will still pick a personal favourite, but that’s about it.

Leave a Reply

