Best Picture 1971

Banner

A Clockwork Orange  Fiddler On The RoofThe French ConnectionThe Last Picture ShowNicholas and Alexandra

 

 

 

After contemplating hard between 1976, 1977 and 1979, I decided to go back to the earlier part of this decade and re-visit the 5 1971 films that the academy decided to nominate for best picture:

A Clockwork Orange

The French Connection *winner* 

Fiddler On The Roof

The Last Picture Show

Nicholas and Alexandra

Like 1975, these 5 films seem so interesting and fascinating as compared to 78 and 70. I have actually seen 3 of the movies, or rather 2, since I watched Fiddler On The Roof when I was less than 10 so I remember NOTHING about it. The French Connection is certainly an interesting and unusual pick, but to be honest I wasn’t that big a fan of it when I last watched it. Hopefully, that will change this time round. Oh, and I am crazy about The Last Picture Show, so….I’ll try to be as objective as I can. And I do love period pieces so Nicholas and Alexandra sounds incredibly fascinating to me! A Clockwork Orange sounds disturbing, but once again, in Stanley Kubrick I trust.

It’s going to be very slow, but I’ll definitely get it done with asap! (Hey, I completed 78 much faster than expected)

 

Leave a Reply

