12 Performances!

Not that 12 is a nice number or something revolutinary, but I’m surprised that I have already covered more than 10 performances since the introduction of this category. I honestly expected myself to give up after around 5 performances. And yet, as I did these posts, I realised that it’s something that I do enjoy doing; like I said, I don’t pretend to be an acting expert and say that I know how this and that line should have been delivered or how many teardrops the actress should have dropped at this particular frame. For me, it’s about the feelings and emotions. I wouldn’t even call my posts reviews, since I’m not a professional critic, but more of reflections. What did I feel about this performance? What kind of emotions did it evoke? And let’s face it, it is a subjective game. Even when I acknowledge that the performer is giving an outstanding and perfectly delivered performance, there’s always the issue of how much I identified myself within the performance, and how much I could connect with it. There are times I watch a performance and go, “yes, he/she is perfect, he is fully honest in the performance, never ringing a false note”, and I am blown away by the performance, but I just don’t find myself falling heads over heels in love with it, despite my highest respect for the performance. Still, I do have great fun doing this, sometimes more than my best picture post and I don’t intend to stop even though I have found a short job to occupy me for the next couple of weeks before school starts.

And so, the performances that I have discussed are:

Favourite Best Actor Winners

Favourite Best Actress Winners

Rod Steiger in In The Heat Of The Night (1967)

Rosalind Russell in His Girl Friday (1940)

Geraldine Page in Sweet Bird of Youth (1962)

Diane Keaton in Looking For Mr Goodbar (1977)

Katharine Hepburn in Suddenly, Last Summer (1959)

Walter Huston in The Devil And Daniel Webster (1941)

Ingrid Bergman in Notorious (1946)

Julianne Moore in Boogie Nights (1997)

Sigourney Weaver in Aliens (1986)

Marion Cotillard in Inception (2010)

Helen Hayes in The Sin of Madelon Claudet (1932)

Beatrice Straight in Network (1976)

 

 

Leave a Reply

