R.I.P Philip Seymour Hoffman

Usually when celebrities pass away, even my favourite ones, I don’t find myself feeling as devastated as many people do. It’s not that I’m cold-hearted or anything; it’s just that these people always seem so distant and far away (literally and figuratively) that what I really feel is more of sense of pity that we lose them, especially the tremendously talented ones. Of course, I do feel sad when my favourites are gone, but it’s not like I knew them personally; I doubt I’d ever feel as devastated by the death of celebrity as I was when my dog died. I know, I know… It’s the same reason why I don’t hate celebrities by the way. Sure, I find some like Justin Bieber and Charlie Sheen incredibly obnoxious and annoying but I don’t find myself tearing my hair out just because they exist.

But today’s news about Philip Seymour Hoffman’s death kinda struck me differently. I’m not saying that I’m totally ripped apart by grief, of course. As usual, I always feel this sense of pity over the loss of such a great talent…except that for this case, this feeling feels much stronger than usual. It’s kinda eerie, because just a few days ago, I was (for no particular reason) looking through YouTube clips showcasing the works of this superbly talented actor, and I remembered thinking to myself, “Wow, he is undoubtedly one of the greatest actors alive”. I was positive that in the near future, we will see him win his second Oscar (which I feel should have been rewarded to him for The Master).

I mean, I even wrote this tweet on the 31st January 2014, like 2 days before his death:

Philip Seymour Hoffman: Greatest living screen actor today, imo. Just watch Capote, then Magnolia, then The Master to see what I mean.7:15 AM – 31 Jan 2014

So can you imagine how shocked I am today, immediately a few days after that tweet, to see reports of his death appearing all over my twitter timeline?

I don’t know what to say…the movie fanatic in me feels saddened by the loss of such a incredible actor. It’s kinda sad that I can no longer look forward to watching any more of his movies. Nonetheless, his previous works should always be celebrated for their excellence, commitment and originality. He never acted for Oscars or awards; he acted because he believed in giving the characters the lives that they need.

Magnolia (1999)


Capote (2005)

Charlie Wilson’s Law (2007)

Doubt (2008)

The Master (2012)

Leave a Reply

