Quick ones: Blue Jasmine and Captain Phillips

Alright, I’m slow but I finally did a bit of catching up on the Oscars train. I’ll just briefly give my opinions on both movies because I’m a little bit busy right now. Let’s just say that I enjoyed both movies very much, and I guess they deserved the recognition by the major awards (especially Cate Blanchett). I don’t really have anything negative to say about both films, but of course, we all know that I consider myself extremely lenient and open minded when it comes to film viewing….So….

Blue Jasmine

20140117-002353.jpg
Good: Cate Blanchett. She really nailed every emotional aspect of the character, and her portrayal was really an answer to a question that I’ve once asked about what would Blanche Dubois be like in the modern world. And voila, I really got the perfect answer. It is a very calculated, slightly theatrical performance that is filled with mannerisms but the role requires it and she pulls it off. On the other hand, I know I shouldn’t be making comparisons to A Streetcar Named Desire, but Sally Hawkins is no Kim Hunter. Still the character is quite different, so it’s an unfair comparisons. I thought she was really great in the final confrontation with Jasmine. She nailed the insecure, nervous ticks of the character, which is extremely different to Stella From Streetcar. I guess I just found the latter a more fascinating character.

Neutral: Eh it’s a nice spin off I guess but like I said, I just couldn’t help with the comparisons to A Streetcar Named Desire. Obviously that’s the better film, but this one stands pretty strongly. I thought the brief mention of Chilli and Jasmine being attracted to each other initially quite unnecessary because it wasn’t very obvious, especially when I think of the intense chemistry between Vivien Leigh and Marlon Brando. Still, it’s quite a small issue so I didn’t mind. I also think that it could have been a lot more devastating, or even comedic at times, but I it seems like the film decided to take a “Woody Allen” route, with the witty dialogue and all. The male characters are very underdeveloped, which isn’t that big of a problem but I would have liked to see and know more of them (Like with Brando and Malden’s performances). Overall, it’s noticeably a lot less pretentious and annoying than other Woody Allen films, which is something that I liked.

Captain Phillips

20140117-002446.jpg
Good: I’m more impressed by the storytelling, the pacing, the camerawork and the technical aspects of the movie as compared to the acting here. I felt that all the right elements were in place, and the first half involving the crew hiding from the pirates was masterfully done and very suspenseful. The second half was great as well, but somehow I just wasn’t as engaged (maybe because I already knew the ending). Still it got very intense towards the end, so no issues overall!

Tom Hanks is one of the most respected and beloved actors in Hollywood, but I always feel like I respect his performances rather than love them. I definitely wouldn’t put rank him on the same level as Al Pacino, Robert De Niro and Dustin Hoffman talent-wise (let’s just ignore the crap they’ve been appearing in recently). Having said that, he’s definitely a great actor imo, as proven by Saving Private Ryan and Cast Away. What? Oh no, I did not accidentally forget to mention Forrest Gump, but I’ll talk about that one some other day.

My problem with him is that I really don’t like his charming American Hero/Family man thing which he likes to do in a lot of his roles. I find it a little bit fake and annoying. It’s like I can almost see a speech bubble in his head that says “Go on, you know you like me, so why don’t you just like me and give me an Oscar while you’re at it“. It doesn’t help that I happen to know people who act exactly like that in real life and yet I know that they are absolute assholes behind the charming facade. Anyway, his performance here couldn’t be anymore different as compared to those roles, there’s an emotional honesty and intensity to it that made me fully believe what the character was feeling and going through. There wasn’t much room for developing a super complex character, but it’s still nice to see how he changed from being such a firm and steady man in the beginning to his weakened, vulnerable and traumatized state at the end. I was expecting a very “Look! Tom Hanks can ACT” performance but he did it very heartbreakingly and realistically.

Neutral: I mean….Barkhad Abdi was really good as the pirate, and I’ll admit he added quite a lot of depth to the character…but what’s up with all the overwhelming awards recognition? Still, I’m not saying that it’s a bad performance in any way, especially considering that the guy has NEVER acted before… it’s very good, it serves its purpose well, he was menacing enough and all… I just don’t see him as a standout. I feel like saying that Tom Hanks was snubbed but I haven’t seen ANY of the other nominees performances so I have no opinion.

I’m wondering whether I should watch American Hustle…that movie really swept the nominations but if I’m being completely honest, I’m not really a fan of David O. Russell. Sure, Silver Linings Playbook was great but I did think that it was massively overhyped, although I think Lawrence’s performance was deservedly recognized. I’ve also been reading a lot of comments about American Hustle being overhyped…but I guess I’ll judge for myself.

Oh and I haven’t watched 12 Years A Slave too LOL.

I’ve expressed my opinions about the Oscars (and award shows in general). Nowadays I’m merely following them for fun and as a movie fanatic but I just can’t find the drive to watch every single nominated film and performance. I know that a lot of people are saying that the whole thing is very politics driven nowadays and I have to agree. Still, I do like some of their recent choices, and naturally have those that I disagree with as well. I just think that the internet community shouldn’t be tearing each other apart over this thing…I mean, it’s all subjective isn’t it? No ones opinion is truly right or wrong, unless the person is obviously trolling.

I mean….look at Glenn freaking Close!!! She is still Oscarless, but does that put her below actresses like Jennifer Lawrence (whom I’m not afraid to admit that I like) and Reese Witherspoon?

Anyway…that’s all for now. I’m probably going to watch The Wolf of Wall Street next because I’m a Scorsese fan.

P.s. Latest AHS episode was totally WTF ridiculous imo. I beginning to agree that those characters who died should have stayed dead aka Myrtle Snow. I mean, I initially thought that she had her purpose in restoring Cordelia’s eyesight but now…

Leave a Reply

