2013 Reflections

Holy crap I feel like crap. It’s funny how I kept telling myself in Vietnam to exercise when I return home because being hit by this horrible flu has pretty much killed my appetite for everything. It was so bad that I skipped lunch yesterday and last night’s Sushi Tei tasted so bland . Oh yeah, I’m so miserable.

I guess I should be resting instead of blogging but seriously, I have had enough of wrapping myself up in the blanket and trying to get better the whole day. Sure, I’m still feeling giddy and all but I don’t feel half as bad as I did yesterday…at the moment. 

So right now, it feels kinda appropriate to do a bit of self-reflecting since 2013 is ending. I initially wanted to do a movie review (Either The Grapes of Wrath or Prisoners) but I feel so terrible at the moment that analysing these movies may end up with me convulsing and frothing at the mouth. Sighs. Anyway, I’ll just cover them briefly before they fade from memory.

The Grapes of Wrath is a WONDERFUL movie featuring some great performances by Henry Fonda and especially Jane Darwell. The direction by John Ford is remarkable, even by today’s standard. It paints a very harrowing and realistic picture of life during the great depression, but at the same time there’s something uplifting about the story. The cinematography is great, especially for its time. Henry Fonda was very good, but it was Jane Darwell who really blew me away as Ma Joad, the firm, strong and kind-hearted matriarch of the family. 

Prisoners is overrated. It’s a good thriller, but I really don’t get the overwhelming priase. The slow pace didn’t bother me because it did build up suspense, but I really felt that the story is so overdone and predictable. I’ve heard so many good things about the acting but I felt that Hugh Jackman was the only one who turned in a really great performance (Let’s just say that I liked him here much better than his oscar nominated role). Jake Gyllenhaal was good but I don’t get the awards hype that people are bringing up. The talented Viola Davis is so underused here that I feel almost offended, although she did shine in her brief scene with Paul Dano. Other than that, I didn’t really care about the rest of the cast. Paul Dano does his Paul Dano mannerisms, but he was ok. Not a Melissa Leo fan, and over here I found her underwhelming, rather than frightening, but I still think she’s a good actress! Anyway, at the end of the day I still enjoyed the movie, which was my main source of entertainment during a torturous 4 hour bus ride from Halong bay to Hanoi. (Just the thought of being cramped in that OVERLOADED bus makes me feel like puking)

2013

This year really flew by, and while it’s a clichéd to say this, I really believe that time flies as you grow older. I don’t know why it’s so, but it could be because of the realities of life that you begin to face which makes adopt a “don’t think too much, it’ll end very soon” mentality that you use to deal with problems. I guess every time you go “it’ll pass very soon”, you forget that a considerable portion of the year has just gone by too. 

1) ORD

For any Singaporean male, ORD is probably the best gift ever and yet I ended up feeling pretty neutral. It’s strange, it’s not that I enjoy being in the army (far from it), but on the actual day itself I was just pretty much like…yeah. I guess being uncertain about life and the future made the process of obtaining my pink IC underwhelming. 

2) Working in CPF

Working is about as interesting as watching paint dry, but I feel like I’m born to be an office worker. Sighs. It’s the kind of mind numbing administrative job that I can easily get accustomed to, unlike my more adventurous and sociable friends. I think there was a point where I was even looking forward to photocopying the cheques and documents, which is a little disturbing now that I think of it. Having said that, I did make some cash to satisfy my lui bin, and I have some new friends too!

3) Failed driving…twice

I need to stop dicking around and take my lessons seriously LOL

4) School

I guess starting school in SMU marks a new journey in my life but I honestly don’t really feel much for it. Being in Vietnam made me feel grateful for the situation I’m in but I find it hard to really find meaning in it. Still, I don’t want to complain too much because many would kill to be where I am. It’s just hard to find the drive to excel in everything (leadership positions, excellent grades, camps), maybe because I’m easily contented. I’m stuck with this mentality that money is not everything, something which EVERYBODY tells me is unrealistic in Singapore’s context so I guess I’m doomed. My results are fine. My GPA is 3.53, and yes I am happy. I feel like it’s going to be a crime to say this in SMU because of those “My GPA is 3.6 but everyone around me is 3.8” fuckers around but you know what, I’m VERY HAPPY.  Ok I’m disappointed with my MFE results (How did I drop from 87/100 to 53 omg LOL) but I’m happy with the rest. I never expected myself to do so well for AW, Stats and TWC (IT’S A MIRACLE!).

New Year’s Resolution? I’m keeping it simple nowadays, and that’s to be more positive and happy about life. and pass driving LOL.

Leave a Reply

